Kohli, Rahane in control : India 403-runs lead

 December 05 2015 at 13:07   512    South Africa India Test match Cricket Virat Kohli Paytm Nagpur Kotla

Kohli, Rahane in control : India 403-runs lead

Skipper Virat Kohli (83 not out) and Ajinkya Rahane (52 not out) led India’s second innings resurgence after pacer Morne Morkel had struck early blows for South Africa and helped the hosts reach 190/4 at stumps on the third day of the fourth and final cricket Test here on Saturday.

Coming together when the hosts were reeling at 57/4, Kohli and Rahane completed their respective half-centuries and produced a 133-run partnership at the Ferozeshah Kotla. India, who have a 2-0 unassailable lead, are now 403 runs ahead with two days to go.

Kohli was unbeaten on 83 -- his 12th Test half-century -- to lead India out of trouble along with Rahane. He hit 10 boundaries during his stay in the middle.

Rahane was in equally good form at the other end. The Mumbai batsman, who had scored a century during India’s first innings, donned the saviour’s role in the hosts’ second essay as well. He scored 52 runs, studding his knock with five hits to the fence.

Morkel was the most impressive among the Proteas bowlers. The experienced pacer beat the batsmen frequently with his pace and movement for figures of 3/29. Leg-spinner Imran Tahir had figures of 1/49.

Kyle Abbott, the other pacer in the South African attack, also bowled well, and will perhaps consider himself unlucky not to come away with a wicket.

Starting their second essay with a 213-run first innings lead, India lost early wickets as Morkel bowled a fiery spell in the pre-lunch session. Fellow pacer Abott was also bowling well at the other end as the Indians took time to open their account.

The hosts lost two quick wickets when Morkel sent back opener Murali Vijay and the off-colour Rohit Sharma in quick succession.

Vijay (3) was surprised by the extra bounce of a Morkel delivery that appeared to brush his gloves on the way to wicketkeeper Dane Vilas. But television replays later showed that the ball did not touch his gloves.

Rohit fell victim to the first ball he faced, a beautiful delivery from Morkel that generally held its line with a slight outward movement after pitching on the good length spot.

Rohit probably expected the ball to angle in, and could only watch helplessly as his off-stump was uprooted.

Morkel struck again immediately after lunch with an accurate, in-swinging yorker right into Dhawan’s blockhole that clipped off the bail on the leg-stump.

Kohli was lucky to get a let-off when he edged Tahir to the wicketkeeper. But the delivery was adjudged to be a no-ball.

Cheteshwar Pujara looked promising during his 28-run knock which included three hits to the fence. But the Saurashtra batsman was outfoxed by a faster delivery by Tahir that pitched on a fuller length before hitting the off-stump.

Pujara’s departure saw Rahane join Kohli in the middle and the duo proceeded to try and salvage the Indian innings.

Rahane had a narrow escape early in his innings when Morkel almost found the outside edge of his bat.

But Kohli and Rahane ensured that the Proteas did not enjoy any more success from thereon as they proceeded to help the hosts tighten their grip on the match.

Scoreboard at stumps on the third day of the fourth and final cricket Test between India and South Africa at the Ferozeshah Kotla here on Saturday:

India (first innings) 334

South Africa (first innings) 121

India (second innings)
Murali Vijay c Vilas b Morkel 3 
Shikhar Dhawan b Morkel 21
Rohit Sharma b Morkel 0
Cheteshwar Pujara b Imran Tahir 28
Virat Kohli batting 83
Ajinkya Rahane batting 52
Extras (lb 2, nb 1) 3
Total (four wickets in 81 overs) 190
Fall of wickets: 1-4 (Vijay, 4.6 overs), 2-8 (R Sharma, 6.1), 3-53 (Dhawan, 28.6), 4-57 (Pujara, 31.1).

Morne Morkel 17-6-29-3
Kyle Abbott 17-6-38-0
Dane Piedt 18-1-53-0
Imran Tahir 21-4-49-1
Dean Elgar 8-1-19-0

Match details:
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Bruce Oxenford (Australia)
Television umpire: C.K. Nandan (India)
Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand)
Reserve umpire: Anil Chaudhary (India)

Related articles