Live Updates: Warangal bypoll Election !!

 November 21 2015 at 6:14   406    Warangal TTDP BJP Elections Chandrababu YSRCP Jagan TRS

Live Updates: Warangal bypoll Election !!


09:32 am MP Seetaram nayak cast his vote in Warangal Arts college polling booth 

09:30 am:  8 percent voting reported in Parakala Assembly constituency by 9: 30 am.

09:30 am: TRS MLA  Challa Dharma Reddy cast his vote in Nakkalgutta .

09:25 am: Deputy Chief Minister Kadiyam Srihari along with his family cast his vote in Hanamkonda .

Total voters : 15,09,671 
Male voters:  7,57,231
woman voters: 7,52,293

Total candidates in the fray: 23
Total polling stations: 1,778

Toll-free number for complaining to Election commission: 180042522747 
SMS to Election commission in case of violation of election code:  8790499899.

Warangal/Hyderabad: Elaborate arrangements have been made for smooth and fair conduct of polling for the Warangal Parliamentary Constituency on Saturday from 7 am to 5 pm.

Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal said that there were 23 candidates in the fray and voters can freely vote for the candidate of their choice and they have the option of NOTA too.  A total of 15,09,671 voters, including 7,57,231 males, 7,52,293 females and 147 third gender people are to participate in the voting in 1,778 polling stations with adequate staff.

Bhanwar Lal said the EC would take serious action on violation of the code and people could call without fear at toll-free number 180042522747 and SMS to 8790499899. No complaint of code violation was received so far, he said, adding that a total of 96 per cent of voter slips were distributed to the voters.

Stating that 76 per cent polling was recorded in 2014 elections, Bhanwar Lal voters who utilize their democratic right first would be felicitated. So far, Rs 2 crore cash and 5,000 liters of liquor were seized and details would be given later. Sale of liquor was banned in the Warangal parliamentary segment till Saturday 5 pm.

The EC will closely watch the voting pattern through live web casting. Bhanwar Lal also said the Election Commission had engaged 8000 polling staff, 800 students with own laptops to assist voting process, while live video web casting would be done at 626 polling stations. Tight security measures are in place by deploying 10,000 police personnel, including 2000 Central paramilitary at the seven segments going to poll with additional security at Naxal- infested Bhupalapally area.

According to District Collector Vakati Karuna, 738 micro-observers were drafted  to monitor the polling process. The electronic voting machines (EVMs), control units and ballot units were shifted to polling stations already.  For the convenience of voters, arrangements like barricading, electricity, drinking water and toilets were put in place, she said.  

Related articles