MS Dhoni to lead Zimbabwe tour !!

 May 24 2016 at 6:32   294    Cricket BCCI MS Dhoni India Zimbabwe Coach Tour Anurag Thakur Ravi Shastri Virat Kohli

MS Dhoni to lead Zimbabwe tour !!

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will lead a young 16-man squad announced for next month's limited-overs series against Zimbabwe, which includes three ODIs and as many T20s.

Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, who is currently the leading wicket-taker in the ongoing Indian Premier League, has earned his maiden national call-up for the series.

Meanwhile, star players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have been rested for the short tour of Zimbabwe, which starts from June 11 at Harare Sports Club.

Besides Zimbabwe tour, the All India Senior Selection Committee of the BCCI on Monday announced a 17-man squad for the four-Test tour of West Indies in July-August.

Uncapped Mumbai-based pacer Shardul Thakur has been named in the national squad to face the Caribbean side.

Mohammad Sami, who has not featured in international cricket since the 2015 World Cup, has also been recalled in the squad.

The meeting headed by Chairman of Selectors Sandeep Patil and convened by BCCI Hony. Secretary Ajay Shirke announced the following names.

The 17-member squad for the Test series against West Indies is as follows:

Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny.

Meanwhile, the squad for the limited-overs series against Zimbabwe is as follows:

MS Dhoni (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Faiz Fasal, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayudu, Rishi Dhawan, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jaspreet Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal. 

Related articles