Mumbai Indians Clinch Second IPL Title

 May 25 2015 at 4:58   479    Kolkata IPL 2015 Mumbai Indians CSK Rohit Sharma Dhoni

Mumbai Indians Clinch Second IPL Title

Kolkata: Mumbai Indians win IPL 2015 thrash Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs, MI the third team after CSK and KKR to win IPL twice.

CSK never got going in their colossal 203-run chase against MI, losing by 41 runs.

Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Vinay Kumar, and Harbhajan Singh were as miserly as they were effective.

Dwayne Smith was the top-scorer for CSK, but his 57 came in 48 balls. His innings might have been the highest score for CSK, but it ate up far too many balls at the start, as CSK never gained the momentum needed to get going.

Raina created unwanted history when he was out for 28 off 19 balls. It became the first time in IPL history that Raina failed to score 400 runs in one edition of IPL. He ended at 374 runs in the tournament. Thereafter only MS Dhoni was able to get to double figures, and even he could only manage 18 off 13 coming in at No. 4.

Earlier, Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma added a frenetic 119 to help MI post a huge total of 202 for five against CSK.

Despite the early loss of Parthiv Patel, brilliantly run out by Faf du Plessis for a three-ball duck, Rohit and Simmons completely dominated the bowling to set CSK 203 to win.

Rohit continued his fairytale run at Eden Gardens by scoring a sublime 50. However, their joy dissipated very quickly thanks to Simmons and Rohit.

Pollard and Rayudu smashed the ball all over the place as well. The duo were united with the score on 120 for three, and were separated with the score at 191.

Nehra was unable to add to his wickets tally. Mohit was carted for plenty. Ravichandran Ashwin had a rare off day. Ravindra Jadeja and Pawan Negi were hammered all over the park.

Brief scores
Mumbai Indians - 202/5 (Simmons 68, Rohit 50, Pollard 36, Rayudu 36*)
Chennai Super Kings - 161/8 (Smith 57, McClenaghan 3-25)
Result - Mumbai Indians won by 41 runs

Related articles